"Houston's University" was founded in 1927 as a night school meeting in borrowed rooms, but it quickly grew into a four-year university and is now a major urban research institution. Our 90-minute docent-guided tour of the UH campus traces the university's history and the people who made the school what it is today, including oilman Hugh Roy Cullen, its great benefactor.
We'll visit campus buildings designed by some of Houston's best-known architects, including John Staub, MacKie & Kamrath and Alfred C. Finn, and explore part of the university's impressive collection of public art. The tour also includes little-known parts of UH's history, including stories about the school's significant role in World War II.
Please note this is an exterior architecture tour only. The tour will not go inside any buildings. There are no public restrooms along the tour route.
Tickets will go on sale at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, February 12, 2017, in Wilhelmina Grove at UH Entrance 16, located off Cullen Boulevard just south of Elgin (click here for a UH campus map). Admission is $10 for the general public ($7 for Preservation Houston members and students with valid ID).
For more information, visit our Architecture Walks page.